Disappearing earth

Bekijk alles van
ISBN
9781524711580
18,95
Op voorraad
Productinformatie

Samenvatting


"A genuine masterpiece." --Gary ShteyngartFor fans of Anthony Marra's A Constellation of Vital Phenomena and Téa Obreht's The Tiger's Wife: the kidnapping of two small girls on a remote peninsula in Russia sets in motion a propulsive, evocative, searingly original debut novel by a dazzling young writer.One August afternoon, on the shoreline of the Kamchatka Peninsula at the northeastern tip of Russia, two girls--sisters, ages eight and eleven--go missing. The police investigation goes cold from the outset. In the girls' tightly-woven community, everyone must grapple with the loss. But the fear and danger is felt most profoundly among the women of this isolated place.Taking us one chapter per month across a year on Kamchatka, this powerful novel connects the lives of characters changed by the sisters' abduction: a witness, a neighbor, a detective, a mother. Theirs is an ethnically diverse population in which racial tensions simmer, and so-called natives are often the first to be accused. As the story radiates from the peninsula's capital city to its rural north, we are brought to places of astonishing beauty: densely wooded forests, open expanses of tundra, soaring volcanoes, and glassy seas.Disappearing Earth is a multifaceted story of the intimate lives of women--their vulnerabilities and perils; their loves, aspirations, and regrets; their desires and dreams. The novel speaks to the complex yet enduring bonds of community as it offers startlingly vivid portraits of people reaching out to one another and, sometimes, reaching back to save each other. Gripping and tender, evoking with seamless authenticity an extraordinary place on the other side of the world, this thrilling novel with a haunting suspense at its center announces a profoundly gifted writer.

ISBN:
9781524711580
Lees minder Lees meer
Meer informatie
ISBN9781524711580
Auteurjulia phillips
TaalEngels
Publicatiejaar2019
UitvoeringPaperback
Aantal bladzijdes272
Schrijf uw eigen review
Recensie achterlatenDisappearing earth
Uw waardering

Boeken top 10

Op zoek naar de meest populaire boeken van dit moment? Bekijk dan de boeken top 10.

Het artikel is toegevoegd aan je winkelwagen