• Home
  • / While the music lasts - Rineke Smilde

While the music lasts

on music and dementia 

Auteur: Rineke Smilde, Kate Page, Peter Alheit

Engels - eBook (EPUB)

267 pagina's  |  Eburon Delft  |  juni 2014

Deel dit artikel

Direct te downloaden

Prijs: € 19,90

Geen bezorgkosten

In winkelwagen Toevoegen verlanglijstje


While the music lasts | Rineke Smilde

Engels - Paperback | juni 2014

Prijs: € 34,50


This book on the challenging topic `Music and Dementia, describes recent research into the innovatory practice of `Music for Life, a project managed by Wigmore Hall in London. Through engaging in music as a participatory process, its goal is to make the person behind the dementia visible again. The book explores the interaction between music and dementia through the stories of people who have been working closely together: three musicians, eight women living with dementia, five caregivers, a staff development practitioner, a project coordinator and three scientific observers. The result is a book in which all of them have participated in their own way. It consists of field observations, reflective journals, conversations, interviews and careful scientific analyses. There is, in the words of Clifford Geertz, a `thick description of a new friendship between music and dementia, a story about a fascinating practice. The project presented in this study opened up learning processes for the musicians involved, nurturing their professional lives and development. It changed their understanding of the place of music in peoples lives; it touched their personality and stimulated deep reflections about their identity. The book is highly beneficial for any musician who wants to reach out into society, to engage with new, and perhaps vulnerable audiences. However, musicians are not the only target group. The discoveries of the study are also helpful and inspiring for caregivers of people with dementia and for families of a loved one living with dementia.



Auteur(s)Rineke SmildeKate PagePeter Alheit
Soort boek eBook, 267 pagina's
Bestandstype EPUB
Uitgever Eburon Delft , Verschijningsjaar: 2014
ISBN-13 9789059728905
ISBN-10 9059728904
Taal Engels


Categorieën Kunst & cultuur  >  Muziek
Kunst & cultuur  >  Muziek
De vier beloften van AKO:

1. Niet goed, geld terug

2. Bezorging waar jij dat wilt: thuis, op werk of in een filiaal

3. Veilig betalen met onder andere:

4. Snelle bezorging:

Neem contact met ons op!
Geen artikel  € 0,00