• Home
  • / Chilbury ladies' choir - jennifer ryan

Chilbury ladies' choir


Auteur: jennifer ryan

Engels - Paperback

384 pagina's  |  Broadway  |  september 2017

Deel dit artikel

2 dagen

Prijs: € 16,95

Bezorgkosten: € 1,99

In winkelwagen Toevoegen verlanglijstje



“A delightful debut.”—People 

For readers of Lilac Girls and The Nightingale, The Chilbury Ladies' Choir unfolds the struggles, affairs, deceptions, and triumphs of a village choir during World War II.

As England becomes enmeshed in the early days of World War II and the men are away fighting, the women of Chilbury village forge an uncommon bond. They defy the Vicar’s stuffy edict to close the choir and instead “carry on singing,” resurrecting themselves as the Chilbury Ladies’ Choir. We come to know the home-front struggles of five unforgettable choir members: a timid widow devastated when her only son goes to fight; the older daughter of a local scion drawn to a mysterious artist; her younger sister pining over an impossible crush; a Jewish refugee from Czechoslovakia hiding a family secret; and a conniving midwife plotting to outrun her seedy past.
An enchanting ensemble story that shuttles from village intrigue to romance to the heartbreaking matters of life and death, Jennifer Ryan’s debut novel thrillingly illuminates the true strength of the women on the home front in a village of indomitable spirit.



Auteur(s)jennifer ryan
Soort boek Paperback, 384 pagina's
Uitgever Broadway , Verschijningsjaar: 2017
ISBN-13 9781101906774
ISBN-10 1101906774
Taal Engels


Categorieën Literatuur  >  Literatuur algemeen
De vier beloften van AKO:

1. Niet goed, geld terug

2. Bezorging waar jij dat wilt: thuis, op werk of in een filiaal

3. Veilig betalen met onder andere:

4. Snelle bezorging:

Neem contact met ons op!
Geen artikel  € 0,00